Are ISO 9001:2008 & API Q1, 8th Edition Redundant Certifications?

From: Stephane
Sent: May 27, 2013
To: ATCS – QBlog, Ask the Experts
Subject:  Are ISO 9001:2008 and API Q1, 8th Edition Redundant QMS Certifications?
Hello, we currently have 4 standards, two are specific to Chile and are mandatory.  They are controlled by the organization INN, we also have ISO-9001:2008 controlled by our Registrar and finally, API Q1 8th edition controlled by API.   As you can imagine, all of this cost money and I believe is a duplication of effort that can be eliminated if our ISO 9001 QMS certification is discontinued.  Why is ISO 9001:2008 certification required, especially since these requirements are already included in the API Q1 Specification?  Thank you very much
From: Bill Aston, ATCS – QBlog, Ask the Experts
Sent: May 27, 2013
To: Stephane
Subject: Are ISO 9001:2008 and API Q1, 8th Edition Redundant QMS Certifications?
Hello Stephane,
Thanks for contacting Aston Technical Consulting Services’ QBlog.  With regard to your question, I would suggest that you consider subscribing to the API’s Quality Plus Registration program.  This program provides organizations with ISO 9001:2008, ISO TS29001:2010 and API Q1, 8th Edition QMS certifications for a single registration fee.
It must be noted that although ISO 9001:2008 provides the basis for API Q1, 8th Edition, that there are companies that specifically require ISO 9001:2008 QMS certification and will not accept API Q1, 8th Edition as an equivalent.  Likewise, the same is true for ISO TS29001:2010.
For this reason, it is prudent for companies with an international client base or clients that are not Oil and Gas industry related, to consider the API’s Quality Plus QMS certification scheme.

At the moment API Q1, 8th Edition, includes all ISO 9001:2008 and ISO TS29001:2010 QMS requirements.  However, after the release of API Q1, 9th Edition, which is scheduled for June 2013, this will no longer be true.  API Q1, 9th Edition will continue to meet all ISO 9001:2008 requirements, but API Q1 will no longer be identical to ISO TS29001:2010.
Therefore, organizations will need to maintain a copy of ISO TS29001:2010, if applicable and a separate copy of API Q1, 9th Edition.  For your information the API will require all participate companies (Registrants) to fully transition from API Q1, 8th Edition to API 9th Edition by no later than June 2014.
I hope this helps.

Best regards,
Bill Aston, Managing Director
Aston Technical Consulting Services
Kingwood, Texas

This entry was posted in 9th Edition, Auditing, QMS Basics, QMS Requirements and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.